1989 – 1994 – Political Development


Resolution 435:

“Resolution 435” was the dominating political factor in 1989 and not surprising enjoying much editorial attention in the Namib Times.
In the Namibian political arena the implementation of Resolution 435 paved the way for the first democratic election later that year to elect a Constituent Assembly for Namibia. The Constituent Assembly was tasked with the development of a Constitution for the future Independent Republic of Namibia.

Elections 1989:

Swapo wins the Constituent Assembly Elections by a 57,33 % majority and the Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA) became the Official Opposition attracting 28,55 % of the vote. Namibia’s current serving Head of State Dr Hage Geingob elected the Chairman of the Constituent Assembly.
The Namibian Constitution is adopted on 9 February 1990. The date for Namibian Independence is set for 21 March 1990.


At the strike of the clock at midnight on 21 March 1990 Namibia gained its Independence from South Africa. At that very moment the South African flag was lowered on Namibian soil for the last time and the Namibian flag was proudly hoisted. Witnessing this key moment in history were then South African State President F.W. de Klerk and Namibia’s Dr Sam Nujoma who became Namibia’s first democratically elected Head of State. Pictures above show Dr Nujoma being congratulated by de Klerk moments after Independence.

Re-integration of Walvis Bay:

Walvis Bay was re-integrated as Namibian territory on 1 March 1994, less than two months before South Africa became a multi-racial democracy on 27 April 1994. The re-integration ceremony took place at the Kuisebmond stadium and on the picture above Namibia’s Head of State Dr Nujoma arriving for the proceedings which too took on the form of a formal lowering of the South African flag and subsequent flying of the Namibian flag.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login