Allan king of the Desert

Rudi Bowe

The Walvis Bay Motor Club’s (WBMC) 2020 V- Power Race was a great success for motorists and motor sports enthusiasts at the coast.

Allan Martin and navigator Maretha Olivier in the J&P Hydraulics 4×4 Skoda R5 are the S4 class won six of the nine specials stages in the 236.71km in a time of 58 minutes 31 seconds of the sedan section, 2 minutes 16 seconds faster than Wilro Dippenaar and navigator Carolyn Swan in their Shell V-Power 4×4 Toyota Auris S2000 in a time of 1:00:47 with Zachery Martin and navigator Amanda Hugo in their J&P Hydraulics 4×4 VW Polo S2000, 2.27 behind Dippenaar to end third in a time of 1:03:14.
Dippenaar and Swan were penalised with 50 seconds added to his final time for clock in 5 minutes late at the start of the final stage as they had to change a flat tyre at the end of Stage 8. A penalty is calculated at 10 seconds per minute.
In the CR class for pickups with V8 4×4 specimens, Bertie Smit and navigator Dewald Venter with their BSCS V8 4×2 Mazda pickup recorded their second win for the season and the brothers Stefan and Lappies Labuschagne with their Gobabis Truck & Tractor V8 4×4 Land Rover in second position for the second consecutive event.
Coastal driver Oswaldo Mendes and navigator Kes Naidoo in their 4×4 Mitsubishi Evo in the S4 class as well as Jan Everson and navigator Fanie Botes with their 4×2 VW Polo in S2 class were the only teams of the sixteen that entered that did not finished the rally.

To read more: pick up your copy of the Namib Times at any retail outlet in Walvis Bay and Swakopmund. Available in Windhoek at selected stores, at Arandis (Shoprite and Arandis Service Station); Usakos; Henties Bay (Spar; Woermann Brock) and Windhoek (Windhoek: Shoprite Maerua Mall; Shoprite Katutura; Shoprite Ind. Av; Shoprite Lafrenz Industrial; Shoprite Okurayangava; Shoprite U-Save; Fountain OK Foods (Baines); Maerua Superspar).

You must be logged in to post a comment Login