AWEH, coastal teams in round of 16

Rudi Bowe

Narraville’s community football team Western Spurs and the mighty Blue Waters from Kuisebmond went through to Round of 16, after both teams won their respective game in the MTC Namibia Football Association (NFA) Cup AWEH Round of 32 over the past weekend.

Western Spurs who made a piece of history as the man from Narraville and Kangweru Black Tops drew 1-1 after full time at the Omulunga Stadium in Grootfontein. Kativa Ngongo put the Black Tops ahead after 33 minutes and Lugano Fischer scored the equalizer for Spurs in the second half. Spurs won the penalty shootout that followed 4-3 to advanced.
The Chairman of Western Spurs FC Tyron Mouton said that it was a very hard game, but they are happy to have advanced to the next round.
Mouton said, “The performance of all the players was exceptional. That claimed the win and
progressiion to the next round.”
“We just need the support of our community. We encourage businesses to see if they can give us financial support as we are the only team in Narraville and we have been around for so long”, Mouton said.
Blue Waters claimed bragging rights as they defeated coastal rivals Eleven Arrows 2-0 during at the MTC NFA Cup AWEH round of 32 clash at the Sam Nujoma Stadium in Windhoek with Petrus Ambrosious and Henrico Hoebeb was the goal scorers for Blue Waters.
Unfortunately, Eleven Arrows and Swakopmund Football Club (SFC) didn’t make it to the round of 16 of the country’s biggest Cup competition. The team from Swakopmund lost 2-3 to Ohangwena Nampol FC at the Oscar Norich Stadium in Tsumeb and Eleven Arrows lost against Blue Waters.
The organizers now know who the remaining teams are to be able to do the draw for the round of 16, which will be played on 19 and 20 June at venues yet to be determined.
The quarterfinals will take place on the weekend of 3-4 July, and the last four teams will battle it out on 17-18 July for the privilege of being involved in the final on 31 July.
The 16 teams that still have a claim at the cup are Western Spurs, Blue Waters, Civics, Black Africa, Nossob FC, Citizens, Tura Magic, Young African, Young Brazilians, Super 11 FC, Tigers, Ohangwena NamPol, New Poison, Khuse FC, DTS Hopsol and Mighty Gunners.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login