Blue Waters second in T20 League

Rudi Bowe

The Blue Waters Women’s cricket teams ended second in the senior and junior divisions of the Namibia Women’s T20 League.

The 5 days 16 Matches saw teams like Blue Waters 1, 2 and 3, the Zebras, Pro-Ed Academy 1 and 2 and Outjo Cricket Club competing for the league title. The senior division champions are the defending champions Zebras Cricket Club from Windhoek while Outjo Cricket Club is the champions in the junior division.
The director of women’s cricket in Namibia and organiser of the league Hester Khan said that they are very excited about the immense talent that was discovered throughout the games and that they are excited to see more women join the sport.
Women’s cricket has grown rapidly over the past years therefore Cricket Namibia are planning to establishing a Namibian Cricket Women’s A-Team early next year where these newly discovered talents will be developed. Thus far Blue Waters Outjo and have established development teams for girls and Khan is challenging Sparta Cricket Club as well as the Junior Coastal Cricket Academy and all cricket clubs without women team to establish a women’s cricket team.”
Khan thanked the proud sponsor of the Namibia Women’s Cricket, Mediclinic, Sparta Sport Club, Pro-Ed Academy, Blue Waters Cricket Club and every one that made the event special.
The Awards winners were:
Estelle van der Merwe best junior batter after she managed 76 runs at an average rate of 25.3. Elizabeth Ndume best bowler, after she acquired seven wickets at an economy rate of 3.3.
Meke Mwatile The junior all rounder with 42 runs at an average of 10.5, as well as one wicket with an economy rate of 4.7.
Yasmeen Khan best senior batter with 83 runs at an average rate of 27.7
Kayleen Green best senior bowler with 4 wickets at an economy rate of 3.7
Wilka Mwatile best senior all rounder with 79 runs at an average rate of 39.5 and acquired five wickets at an economy rate of 3.7
Sparta sport club will play host to the first ever Namib Desert T20 women challenge between Namibia and Zimbabwe from 5 January – 10 January. This will be an International Cricket Council sanctioned event.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login