Coastal players in Europe

Rudi Bowe

The Four rugby players from the coastal town of Walvis Bay that are part of the 28-man national rugby squad has been selected for the Europe for the year tour are Desiderius Sethie, Damian Stevens, Chrysander Botha and Chad Plato.
The Namibian National rugby head coach Phil Davies, it said that the aim is to expose Namibia’s young players to test match rugby while continuing to build depth and experience in key positions.

The squad that includes numerous youngsters with 12 players still under 25 and with 11 members having played at the 2015 World Cup. The youngsters include two National under 20 players in full-back Chad Plato and prop forward Andre Rademeyer, while scrum half Wihan von Wiellich, fly-halves PW Steenkamp and Cliven Loubser, hooker Obert Nortje and Prop Nelius Theron, all played for the Namibian under 20 team last year.

Other players who are still under 24 years of age areflanker Max Katjijeko, scrum half Damian Stevens, centre Justin Newman and wing Janry du Toit.

The Loose Forward Renaldo Bothma, who captained the Namibian team in the 2017 Gold Cup will makes a welcome return to the National side after missing most of the year due to injuries. The players with World Cup experience include Casper Viviers, TjiueeUanivi, Rohan Kitshoff, Johan Deysel, Darryl de la Harpe, Johann Tromp and Chrysander Botha.

National coach Davies said he is happy with the selected squad and that it is the best available players to tour with and that they that have been exposing combinations over the past three and a half years and that he is happy the players are in a good place.

Davies added that players like Eugene Jantjies, Torsten van Jaarsveld, Aranos Coetzee, Janco Venter, Lesley Klim, WianConradie, Louis van der Westhuizen and PJ van Lill are unavailable for the Europe tour due to various reasons that includes exams, injuries or personal reasons.
The Namibian tour program is:
10 November Russia in Sochi
17 November Spain in Madrid
24 November Portugal in Lisbon
The Namibian squad is as follows:
Props: Andre Rademeyer, Casper Viviers, Desiderius Sethie, Nelius Theron and A J De Klerk

Hookers: Obert Nortje and Niël Van Vuuren Locks: Tjiuee Uanivi, Ruan Ludick and Mahepisa Tje-riko
Back Row: Thomasau Forbes, Max Katjijeko, Renaldo Bothma, Adriaan Booysen and Rohan Kitshoff.
Scrum halves: Damian Stevens and Wihan von Wielligh
Fly halves: Cliven Loubser and PW Steenkamp
Centres: Johan Deysel, Darryl de la Harpe and J C Greyling
Back three: Janry du Toit, Johann Tromp, Chrysander Botha, Chad Plato, TC Kisting and Justin Newman.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login