Eagles at first-ever ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Rudi Bowe

The Namibian Eagles will be appearing in their first-ever International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s T20 World Cup after they defeated Oman in the qualifying tournament in October 2019 in Dubai.

The seventh T20 World Cup will be composed of two rounds. Round 1 will include twelve matches between eight teams that are divided into two groups with a total of 42 matches at the BCCI in Oman and the United Arab Emirates from 17 to 23 October.
The Eight teams will contest the first round including automatic qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with the remaining six who booked their spot through the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019.
The Eagles will compete against Sri Lanka, Ireland and Nether-lands in Group A with Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman in Group B with the winner and runner up of each group in round 1 will progress to round 2 to join the already qualified 8 teams (India, West Indies, England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan and Afghanistan) in Super 12 for the 2021ICC Men’s T20 World Cup hosted at the Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

Round 2 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled from 24 October to 8 November 2021 with 12 team that will be split into two groups of six teams each with the two top teams of each group will play the Semi-finals that will be on 11 and 12 November and the semi-final winners to play the final on 14 November 2021.
The defending champions the West Indies pooled along with former champions England, Australia and South Africa in Group 1 of the Super 12s, with two qualifiers from Round 1 joining them and Group 2 will comprise former champions India and Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and the other two qualifiers from Round 1.
The Namibian Eagles coach Pierre de Bruyn has reacted with dis-appointment at the new T20
World Cup groups draw and did not understand why there was a new draw as the draw was done shortly after their qualification in November 2019.
According to the coach, the new draw Namibia has now been placed in a much tougher group and that the Eagles chances of advancing to the Super 12 stage would be much more difficult.
“The Eagles were originally drawn in Group B along with Bangladesh, the Netherlands and Scotland, but now after the latest draw, they were put in Group A along with Sri Lanka, Ireland and the Nether-lands, while Group B consists of Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman” he added.

De Bruyn further explained that Ireland and the Netherlands are also unhappy about the changes as just like Cricket Namibia they were also not aware that the ICC were going to change the groups and that it doesn’t make sense at all as the national team haven’t played any (internationally recognised) matches since the World Cup qualifiers.
“In terms of T20 world rankings Namibia, who are ranked 19 in the world, are now in a tougher group against Sri Lanka (ninth), Ireland (12) and the Netherlands (17), while Bangladesh (10th in the world), Scotland (14), Papua New Guinea (16) and Oman (18) make up Group B” De Bruyn added.

“With two full ICC members in Sri Lanka and Ireland and the Netherlands which is also a very good team we are now definitely in the tougher group by far and this made our chances of advancing to the Super 12 stage much more difficult but it doesn’t mean we can’t advance from Group A, it’s just going to be tougher” De Bruyn said.

“If we can advance from a group like this, it will show we have a bloody good team. We will take on the challenge, we won’t shy away from it, but it doesn’t make sense coming like this without any prior warning. They could at least have explained to us why they made the changes,” De Bruyn said.

Namibia will play their first game in Group A on 18 October 2021 against Netherlands, their se-cond game against Sri Lanka is on 20 October and their last group game on 22 October against Ireland.
The grouping for round 1 are; Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands and Namibia
Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman and for the Super 12 grouping is Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2. Group 2: India, Pakis-tan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2 and B1.
The Namibian squad for the World Cup is Gerhard Erasmus, Ste-phen Baard, Zane Green, Craig Williams, JJ Smit, Nicol Loftie Eaton, Jan Frylink, Ruben Trumpelmann, Pikkie Ya France, Karl Birkenstock, Ben Shikongo, Tangeni Lungameni, Bernard Scholtz, Dewald Nell, Shaun Fouche, Michau du Preez(wk), Mauritius Ngupita, Michael van Lingen and David Wiese .

You must be logged in to post a comment Login