Erongo Region scoops seven awards

Rudi Bowe

Seven athletes from the Erongo Region have been awarded for their achievements over the last year at the 2018 Namibia Sports Awards that were held on Saturday at the Dome in Swakopmund.

The MTC sports star of the year was awared to the 21 year old Swakopmund resident and Rossmund Golf star Likius Nande and the MTC sportsman of the year award was won by boxer Jonas Junias Jonas also from Swakopmund.
Albertus Thaniseb the boxing trainer of Junias won the Sports Commission Excellence Award with Leonard Martin the countries head and chief instructor of Goju-Kai karate received the Namibia Sports Commission Lifetime Achievement Award.
The MTC Junior Sportsman and Junior Sportswoman of the Year awards went to Walvis Bay gymnast Lance Potgieter and Carane van Zyl. The elder sister of Carane was the recipient of the Junior Sportswoman award last year and Johanna Benson also from Walvis Bay shared the NamPower Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability with Lahja Ishitile and Sylvia Shivolo.
The Erongo Red People’s Choice Personality of the Year was won by the Archer Quinn Reddig that was also nominated for the Junior Sportswoman of the Year award. The awared was handed to her by Georgina Wolher Corporate Communications Officer and Benjamin Nangombe the Corporate Communications and Marketing Specialist from Erongo Red.
The Sports Minister Erastus Uutoni reaffirmed the government’s total commitment to sports development and that this year has been hectic to move sport to the next level considering all the challenges the sector is facing and without proper government structures it will be impossible for codes to achieve their goals.

Uutoni spoke about fighting discrimination and racism in sport.“Discrimination and racism in sport has to be fought collectively. Racism cannot just be fought with lip service, but with serious consequences for perpetrators” the Minister said.The chairperson of the Namibia Sports Commission Joel Matheus said there have been a number of positive developments in local sport over the past year.
Sports Commissioner Monica Shapwa praised Namibian athletes for their achievements in their various codes.
Shapwa also mentioned that it is the first time in 15 years that the NASA ceremony is being held at the coastal town of Swakopmund and although most Namibian sports are amateur, they flew the national flag high.
The NASA winners will receive cash prizes for their achievements and thanked corporate for making the event possible she added.
The spokesperson of MTC Namibia Marvin Amuenje said corporate sponsors are doing all they can to support sports development, but that mismanagement, corruption, racism and sexism are still stumbling blocks that need to be dealt with.The category winners at Saturday’s Namibia Sports Awards were:
Namibia Sports Commission Lifetime Achievement Award: – Rusten Mogane (former Brave Warriors coach and international soccer player); Isak Kahatjipara (boxing trainer and sports organiser); Hannes von Holtz (pioneer of racial integration in athletics and former president of the Namibian Athletics Union); Leonard Martin (country head and chief instructor of Goju-Kai karate) and Callie Schäfer (former sports commissioner instrumental in drafting the Sports Act).
Namibia Sports Commission Excellence Award: –
Albertus Thaniseb (boxing trainer).
Standard Bank Development Programme of the Year: – Kids on Bikes, which takes cycling development to all regions.
The Namibian Sports Journalist of the Year: – Limba Mupetami (Namibian Sun).
Referee/Umpire of the Year: – Patrick Esterhuizen (professional boxing).
Namdia Coach of the Year: – Tobias Nashilongo (boxing trainer).
Tafel Lager Team of the Year: – Namibia’s senior rugby team.
NamPower Junior Sportsman of the Year with a Disability: – Alfredo Benardo.
NamPower Junior Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability: – Beata Hausiku.
MTC Junior Sportsman of the Year: – Lance Potgieter (gymnastics).
MTC Junior Sportswoman of the Year: – Carane van Zyl (gymnastics).
NamPower Sportsman of the Year with a Disability: – Ananias Shikongo.

NamPower Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability: – Lahja Ishitile, Sylvia Shivolo and Johanna Benson.
MTC Sportsman of the Year: – Jonas Junias Jonas (amateur boxing).
MTC Sportswoman of the Year: – Helalia Johannes (athletics).
Erongo Red People’s Choice Personality of the Year: – Quinn Reddig (archery).
MTC Sports Star of the Year: – Likius Nande (golf).

You must be logged in to post a comment Login