FNB Kudus II reserves league champions

Rudi Bowe

The FNB Kudus II were crowned the Namibian Rugby Union’s (NRU) 2021 Reserve League champions after the Narraville boytjies beat the Khomasdal boytjies FNB Western Suburbs 32-17 in the final of the league last Saturday, 20 November at the Hage Geingob Stadium in Windhoek.

This was the first time that Kudus Rugby Club won an NRU league trophy since 2008 when they beat FNB Wanderers in the final in Windhoek.
The Chairman of Kudus Rugby Club Greg Swartz said the club and its fans are terribly excited about the success this team has achieved.
Swartz said, “We are very proud of the men. For us, it means a new era of a winning culture at the club that we have to keep up with and we just need to build further now. We have been longing for success for so long. ”
Swartz encouraged the first team and expressed his gratitude to one of the board members, Allister Carollissen. “We are aware of what you do for the team, and also carry the victory on you.”
The Patron of Kudus Rugby Club Zane Jansen, thanked the team’s main sponsor First National Bank of Namibia as well as all the other sponsors who contributed to the team’s success.
At the teams arrival last Sunday Kudus II captain Lezandro Vos said he could not describe his feelings and how it feel like to bring the trophy to home after 13 years. “All I can say is that we are extremely proud of the successes we have achieved.”
One of the players who were part winning the 2008 League trophy 13 years ago, Casio Schoombee encouraged his team mates to do it again next year. “We showed them who Kudus is and we must continue like this.”
FNB Kudus Rugby Club’s management and players dedicated the trophy to Chandler Plato and James de Koker who both lost their lives due to Covid-19.
FNB Kudus II was awarded a penalty try and scored 3 tries by Cody Naholo and Riwaldo Strauss, two tries. Ulriato Lawrance scored 10 points, that includes two penalties and two conversions.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login