Fourth leg of Rotax Max Challenge done and dusted

Rudi Bowe 

The fourth Leg of the Rotax Max Challenge Namibia National Go-karting Championship was held on 7 August 2021 with 14 racers competing over three heats of Go-karting action in six different classes at the Swakopmund Go-karting track.

The Rotax challenge is a worldwide Go-karting racing series consisting of 70 countries and promoted by engine manufacturer Rotax. The racing series is made up of six different classes that will be contested in three heats, namely the Bambino, Maxterino, Junior max, Senior max, DD2 and DD2 max.
The four newcomers to the track were Travis Nell in the Maxterino class, Candice Fourie in the Sen Max Class, Richie Slamet returning to Go-karting, joining the DD2 class and Cecil Koorts in the DD2 Masters class.
All 3 competitors racing in the Bambinos class raced on their limit with Cecil Koorts starting from pole and win all 3 heats. Paul Oosthuizen in the DD2 Masters Class set a best lap time of 35, seconds, only 0,2 seconds slower than the best lap time done by the South African Christian Verheul in December’s “Kart Store Namibia Cup”. All 3 Go-karters in the DD2 Masters Class improved their lap times by 2,5 seconds from the last race in Swakopmund on Easter Weekend.
Travis Nell competed in the Bambinos class as he was the only competitor in the Maxterino class.
Justus Beulker going in as the favourite for the day in the Jun Max and clinching a clean sweep and winning all 3 heats with a personal and best lap of the day.
Chazlo Mara having a good day winning the Sen Max class for the first time. Candice Fourie learning a lot in her first race ever DD2. It was also the first time that the Sen Max class had 2 competitors.
Richard Slamet Jnr with a excellent performance taking pole and winning all 3 heats in the DD2 class with a best lap of the day of 26,593 seconds. Ivan Vorster changed from Sen Max class to DD2 class with some technical problems, but picking up pace in the last heat.
Paul Oosthuizen with an excellent day performance taking the 3 heat wins in the DD2 Masters class with an outstanding 26,848 seconds. Jörg Goldbeck taking the 2nd place of the day with a personal best of 27,708 seconds, Zirk Jansen and Cecil Koorts with great lap times taking third and fourth place respectively
The following drivers were awarded a free entry ticket to the Rotax African Open in Pretoria on 3 October 2021. Cecil Koorts (Bambino) Mick Goldbeck (Maxterino) Justus Beulker (Jun Max) Ivan Vorster (Sen Max) Richie Slamet (DD2) Jörg Goldbeck (DD2 Masters) Along with the free entry ticket a new set of racing tyres was awarded.
The fifth leg of the 2021 Rotax Namibia Go-karting Challenge takes place on 3 September at the Tony Rust Track in Windhoek.

The full results of leg 4 are as follows:
DD2 Masters Class
1. Paul Oosthuizen (Senior) 27 points
2. Jörg Goldbeck 16 points
3. Zirk Jansen 14 points
4. Cecil Koorts (Senior) 3 points
DD2 Class
1. Richard Slamet (Junior) 18 points
2. Ivan Vorster 8 points
Senior Max Class
1. Chazlo Mara 18 points
2. Candice Fourie 8 points

You must be logged in to post a comment Login