Fun in the sun at St George’s

On Saturday, 15 September 2018, 127 archers from 15 schools/clubs from all over Namibia gathered on the St George’s Diocesan sports field to compete against one another in the 3rd NASP Nationals.
The top 16 archers (8 junior and 8 senior) from every school/club shot 3 Bull’s Eye rounds and 2 3D/2D rounds.
The competition started with registration at 7:00, bearing in mind that some archers only left for Windhoek in the early hours of the morning due to other academic responsibilities at school still.
At 08:00 the first arrows started flying. The range had been lovingly set up the day before on the grass.
Parents were happily ensconced on the pavilion under gazebos and the existing shade netting. The tuck-shop was in high demand for coffee and water, keeping the tummies filled and stamina at its peak! It was a hot summer’s day and lucky for the archers the wind stayed away.
At about 13:30 the animals (baboons, bears and wild pigs) were brought to the forefront and 2D animals’ targets with zebra, kudu and wildebeest replaced the target faces. Archers helped set up with great gusto and the shooting commenced. After a little “panic” in the office, the prize giving was held shortly after the last arrows were shot and the two multi –coloured bows for the Champion Boy and Girl found their new owners. Many beautiful certificates and trophies were also handed out.
A huge thank you to the NASP® Namibia Committee for organising this prestigious event,
Afro Pumps and its employees for setting up and taking down the range and St George’s for making their facilities available. Butt Archery Suppliers for the Targets and Impact Web Studios for all the Medal Stickers and Certificates.
The parents of the archers, who make this sport possible, for driving the archers all over the country and buying and maintaining the equipment, deserves special thanks as well as our archers, who spend many hours practicing in the sun, for their commitment and diligence. It all pays off in the end – lives are changed one arrow at a time.
The next competition will be held in Mariental on 6th October.
The new committee for the year 2018-2019 are R. Woortman (Chairman), D. Louw (Vice Chairman), K. Marais (Secretary), C. Els (Treasurer), A. Park (Central), L. Human (East), J. De Jager (West), B. Roberts (South) and P. Weakley (North)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login