Gawanabwon Sperrgebiet Open

The 43rd anniversary of the Vivo Energy Namibia Sperrgebiet Amateur Open golf championship was commemorated at the Oranjemund Golf Club.

The tournament sponsored by Vivo Energy Namibia for the 22nd consecutive year was well attended by players from as far as Walvis Bay, Rössmund (Swakopmund), Windhoek, Karasburg, Springbok and Alexander Bay.
Players in the A, B and C divisions competed over 54 holes and the D division (front 24 to 36 plus) is definitely over 36 holes.
On Friday morning, the weather conditions were anything but favorable, with cold and very strong winds.
Later that afternoon it was a little better.
The Saturday was perfect for golf, cloudy and cool in the morning and wonderfully warm with a cool breeze in the afternoon.
Stanley Gawanab of Walvis Bay has emerged as the overall winner with a four-stroke lead,
which is quite an achievement with powerful Likius Nande and Gabriel Shikodi among the top contenders.
The leading results were as follows:
Overall gross winner: Stanley Gawanab (Walvis Bay) 229, runner-up Gabriel Shikodi (Windhoek Country Club) 233.
Overall net winner: Desmond Benson (Walvis Bay) 219, runner-up JuandréMatthys (Alexander Bay) 224.
A-section best gross: Likius Nande (Rössmund) 243, Mario Polster (Walvis Bay) 246.
B-section best gross: Helmut Ndjendja (Röss-mund) 253, Thomas Shitaleni (Rössmund) 258.
C-section best gross: Joseph Uunona (Oranje-mund) 278 count, Heini Meissenheimer (Alexander Bay) 278.
A-section best net: PineasKamati (Oranjemund) 230, André Brandt (Karasburg) 233.
B section best net: Elton Witbooi (Springbok) 230, Leevi Tshoopara (Windhoek Outdoor Club) 237.
C section best net: Peet van der Merwe (Oranjemund) 226, Clarence van Wyk (Springbok) 236.
D section (36 holes): 1 Johann van Zyl, 2 Ryno Husselman, 3 Wouter Ludeke (all three from Oranjemund).

You must be logged in to post a comment Login