Helalia won Erongo Street Mile

Rudi Bowe

The 6th Edition of the Erongo Powersave Street Mile Challenge Run with 1 186 participants was won by Commonwealth Games champion and the undisputable queen of road races in Namibia, Helalia Johannes.

Once again one has to acknowledge and appreciate the support of the mains sponsors Shield Namibia/Powersave Wholesale and Pasta Polana a Brand of Namib Mills and partner by FBN – Omaruru, the Directorate of Sport for the transport of the athletes to Omaruru and Coca Cola Namibia Bottling Company the race official drink sponsor.

The race shows some quality performance especially from the Queen of Road Running Helalia Johannes who run a course record of four (4) minutes and forty seconds (04:40) previous (04:45).

Helalia is in her own class what a performance from her, she said that she just wants to do some Speed Edurance Running which it is a good thing to do it on a shorter distance.

The Race Director BK Karumendu said the turn out of the top athletes from the NDF, Police and the Correctional Service was a blessing, but it was unfortunate that the buses from Kunene & Otjozondjupa Regions and Kavango East & West Regions could not make it to Omaruru due to the availability for Buses at their Government Garages.

“Generally, I am happy with all the logistics organization of the race and like to acknowledge and thanks all the sponsors and everyone that helped with the smooth running of the event” Karumendu added.

The 7th Edition of the Erongo Powersave Street Mile Challenge Run will take place on Saturday, 12 October 2019 in Omaruru.

The full results:

Senior Men Mile Run (1.6km)

Kondjashili, in a time of 4:13

Reinholdt Tomas in a time of 4:18

Shaliaxwe Jeremiah in a time of 4:19

Senior Women Mile Run (1.6km)

Helalia Johannes in a time of 04:40

Lavinia Haitope in a time of 04:54

Anna Iipinge in a time of 05:01

Masters Men 50+ Mile (1.6km) Run

Ndungu Kristof in a time of 5:09

Mathias Mutota in a time of 5:21

Jackson Hamuel in a time of 6:23

Masters Women Mile Run (50+)

Magdalena Araes in a time of 7:11

Samuel Helena in a time of 8:09

Christofine Moses in a time of 8:34

Veterans Men (40 – 49) Mile (1.6km)

Oscar Komeya in a time of 5:37

Robert Kaxuxuena in a time of 5:39

Paulus Vilho in a time of 5:40

Veterans Women (40 – 49) Mile (1.6km)

Helena Iipinge in a time of 6:08

Gontes Seglinde in a time of 6:24

Emilia Nambahu in a time of 6:25

Junior Men Mile Run (1.6km)

Theron Blaauw in a time of 4:32

Lisiab Teofelis in a time of 4:36

Herman Katwima in a time of 4:37

Junior Women Mile Run (1.6km)

Tuuliki Angala in a time of 5:13

Matana Kalinasho in a time of 5:24

Lydia Neulumo in a time of 5:44

Primary Boys Mile Run (1.6km)

Jan Ski in a time of 5:20

Salomo Dongwi in a time of 5:28

Haingura Josiwa in a time of 5:29

Primary Girls Mile Run (1.6km)

Armando Juliet in a time of 6:24

Shatemwene in a time of 6:27

Tomas Janet in a time of 6:35

You must be logged in to post a comment Login