Independence shoot at the Coast

Rudi Bowe

The Independence shoot hosted by Swakopmund Archery Club in conjunction with the Namibia Archery Association was held over two days at the Swakopmund Football Club (SFC) sport ground.

Thirty-eight archers from Swakopmund, Windhoek and Tsumeb competed in the first-ever outdoor target archery competition. The youngest archer was Janko du Plessis (6) and oldest, Moritz Hoff (77).
The following Swakopmund Archery Club archers performed very well:
Manual de Ferreira top archer in the beginners’ class for compound men.
Jacqueline Coetzee won the women’s section of this division.
Lutz Wahlers won the Recurve bare bow beginner’s section for men.
Rene Esselman top archer in the recurve beginner section for boy’s u/13.
Dirk Rohmann scored 1 242 points and won the compound master division as he hit the bull’s eye on 33 occasions and recorded fifteen tens.
The next Target Archery competition is scheduled for 13 April at the SKW range in Windhoek with a Field Archery competition at Heja Lodge outside Windhoek on the same day. Swakopmund Archery Club thanks everyone who made the Independence Shoot a success.
The full results:
Recurve women:
Margot Louw – gold
Recurve junior women:
Quinn Reddig – gold
Recurve junior men:
Kristiaan van Breda – gold
Christiaan Brandt – silver
Compound women:
Babette Taljaard – gold
Ilana Malan – silver
Bianca Karsten – bronze
Compound men:
Jacques van der Merwe – gold
LouwNel – silver
Riaan Vermaak – bronze
Compound master men:
Dirk Rohrman – gold
Moritz Hoff – silver
Compound junior men:
DuanEngelbrecht – gold
Dirk de Bod Jnr – silver
Compound boys u13:
Wessel du Plessis – gold
Marcel Imhoff – silver
James Boshoff – bronze
Compound girl’s u13:
Mia Karsten – gold
Recurve barebow beginner:
Lutz Wahlers – gold
Hendrik Joubert – silver
Recurve master men beginner:
Danie Steyn – gold
Recurve boy’s u13
René Esselman – gold
Compound women
Jacqueline Coetzee – gold
Compound junior men beginner:
Manuel de Rebeira – gold
NASP kids:
Lana du Plessis
Janko du Plessis
Michael de Waal
Doug van der Walt
Katelyn Venter

You must be logged in to post a comment Login