Kudus second at Day of the Dolphins

Rudi Bowe

The Vineta Sports Stadium in Swakopmund was packed to capacity as fourteen rugby teams battled it out at the ‘Day of the Dolphin Rugby Tournament.

UNAM Rugby Club from Windhoek were crowned the champions for a second consecutive time after beating Kudus from Walvis Bay 13-10 in the final. Kudus that won the cup in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2016 returned this year to take it home but the students emerged victorious after a thrilling final which finished 13-10 in extra time.
The fly-half of UNAM Denver Mororua opened the score with a penalty and handed UNAM a 3-0 lead at half-time. Early in the second half Aurelio Plato replied for Kudus with a penalty. The first try was scored by Percy Nash and with the conversion by Plato Kudus took the lead 10-3. Cameron Klazen from UNAM scored a try that was converted by Mororua that levelled the scores 10-10 at the final whistle and forced the game in to extra time.
A second half penalty against Kudus cost the coastal town men the game the conversion by Mororua but the score 13-10 and clinched the victory for UNAM with just a few minutes on the clock.
The semi-final clashes Kudus defeated Rehoboth 6-3 while UNAM beat St Lou12-0.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login