Member unexpectedly wins


A Member of the Walvis Bay Golf Club beat the club’s Committee by 21.5 to 13.5, in the opening event of the Golf season at the harbour town.

How different it could have been if only that cart did not break down [sabotage maybe] on the first hole fairway, and also if on number one tee box the ball would have travelled further than the tee, and if the one missing committee member [away in Cape Town] was here – but then all those if’s were only that…if’s.
Well played the members who how lead the CHAIRMAN’S Cup race 3-2 and also were the first members that successfully defended the CUP.
It was great to see 34 players turn out to take on the eight committee members. It is a long while ago that we had a field of 42 on the course and long may this continue.
The winner on the day was Tangeni Mpupa winning a count out on 42 points from Wynand Breytenbach, with Andre Burger third on 40 points.
The luck draws went to Henjan van Hyde and Amandio Sardinha, and Amandio also won the closest to the pin on 2/11.
On the photo is Members Captain Tienie de Wet accepting the trophy from Club Captain Shane Westerdale.
This coming weekend is the now newly named, CARLOS de GOUVEIA PAIRS. It is a 27-hole event with the format being first nine – foursomes, second nine – better ball and the third nine – both scores to count. Obviously there will be an earlier tee off so watch the platforms for details. The list will be up soon.
The AEGIR MARINE WALVIS BAY OPEN will be played on 29 and 30 January and the TBC will be on 5 February with the Local Sages on 6 February.
The eleven Junior Golf members from the Walvis Bay Golf Club participated last weekend at a junior tournament at Omeya near Windhoek.
The results were as follows:
E Division – overall winner was Emery Maboh with Emelio Maboh in second place
D Division – 6th place Ashley Martins, 9th place Kian Martins, 11th Place Cathlene Baard
C Division – overall winner Francois le Roux and third place Ethan Johnson
A Division – Willie Els 158, Kyle Johnson 158, JP Johnson 198 and Connor Gibsons 187
On the photo are all our proud prize winners on the day.
The clubs management thank Grant Mather and Poena Johnson for the efforts that are putting in with these juniors. “The youngsters are indeed going to be the future of our club and the sterling work by Mather and Johnson will ensure that we have a future.”

You must be logged in to post a comment Login