Mubatapasango scoops Spirit Award

Rudi Bowe 

A Zimbabwean born Ultra-marathon runner, Mabasa Mubatapasango, living in Swakopmund, scooped the Spirit Award on Saturday, 30 October 2021, at the seven-day, 250 km footrace Namib Race that started on 24 October 2021 in the Namib-Naukluft National Park, and finished at Tiger Reef in host town, Swakopmund.

The 4 Deserts series consisted of the Namib Race (Namibia), The Gobi March (Mongolia), the Atacama Crossing (Chile) and the Last desert (Antarctica) and is widely recognised as the most prestigious outdoor footrace series in the world organised by the Racing the Planet.
Mubatapasango, the only African in the race, said his journey is funny, as he only started running to lose weight after having being inspired by the 2017 edition of the race whilst doing their satellite but now, he is an ultra-marathoner, a term that he still had to get used to.
Mubatapasango said, “I did run for Africa”, this was evident as he wore with pride a running shirt with a Zimbabwean and Namibian flag.
According to Mubatapasango, the 4 Desert Race is a unique and special race he would recommend to anyone who is looking for a new challenge, willing to push the limits or companies that want to do team building.
“My next goal is to do the remaining three races Atacama, Gobi and Antarctica. I would like to extend an invitation to willing corporates to partner with me and we change many stories together,” Mubatapasango said.
Mubatapasango, popular with supporting juniors in tennis, cricket and mentorship extended his appreciation to Erongo businesses that worked with him during his journey, these include: Ruan Mocke and Marieke kirchner, Brew and Bristles, Fusion wellness Spa, Footworx, Paratus and Mec Academy.
The full results of the 2021 Namib Race are;
Men’s Overall;
1. Robert Ripley, United States, 1st
2. Ben Dame, Germany, 2nd
3. Radmir Bickmetov, Russia, 3rd
Women’s Division;
1. Liss Vallestrand, Norway, 1st
2. Kasia Glowacka, Poland, 2nd
3. Beth Whitman, United States, 3rd
Age Group Awards
20-29: Ju Seunghun, Korea
30-39: Kim Alvarez, Spain
40-49: Jeff Pelletier, Canada
50-59: Frode Lein, Norway
20-29: Bis Saravia, Guatemala
30-39: Gabriella Mathisen, Norway
50:59: Corinne Klajda, Poland
Spirit Award:
Mabasa Mubatapasango, Namibia

Sportsmanship Award: Wolfgang Kirchmayr, Switzerland

You must be logged in to post a comment Login