Namibia at Africa T20 Cup

Cricket Namibia announced the participation of National men’s team in the 4th edition of the Africa T20 Cup, scheduled to commence on the 14 September 2018. The tournament is organised by Cricket South Africa.


The tournament is organised to kick start the domestic cricket season. In the 2017/18 season there was a total participation of sixteen teams which included thirteen South African provincial teams, as well as national representative sides namely Kenya, Namibia and Zimbabwe. In this edition the participation has grown to a total of twenty teams with the addition of two South African teams of Limpopo and Mpumalanga, along with national representation from Ghana and Nigeria.

The tournament structure is divided into four pools of which each pool comprises of 5 teams; this means that 10 matches will be played per pool. The format of the tournament has also been amended, as the previous season saw the entire preliminary round all being played over one weekend. Therefore, in this edition to cater for increased participating teams four venues will utilise the main oval and an auxiliary field that is in close proximity to each other.

Namibia is in pool C along with Border, Eastern Province, Kenya and Mpumalanga respectively. Pool C’s preliminary round will take place in East London, South Africa.

The other participating Teams;

South African Teams:

Boland, Border, Eastern Province, Mpumalanga, Free State, Gauteng, Kwazulu-Natal Coastal, Kwazulu-Natal Inland, Limpopo, Northern Cape, North West, Northerns, South Western Districts and Western Province.

African Teams:

Ghana, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria and Zimbabwe (permanent invitee)

Namibia Fixtures:

  1. Namibia vs Mpumalanga – Friday, 14 September 2018 at 13h30 – 16h40
  2. Eastern Province vs Namibia – Saturday, 15 September 2018 at 09h30 – 12h40
  3. Border vs Namibia – Saturday, 15 September 2018 at 13h30 – 16h40
  4. Namibia vs Kenya – Sunday, 16 September 2018 at 09h30 – 12h40

Semi-Finals will take place on the 23 September 2018 and Finals are set to take place on the 24 September 2018.

The Namibian squad for the Africa T20 Cup 2018:

  1. Stephen Julian Baard
  2. Lohandre Louwrens
  3. Michiel Daniel Du Preez
  4. Jan Nicolaas Frylinck
  5. Zane Edward Green
  6. Bernard Martinus Scholtz
  7. Colin James Peake
  8. Johannes Jonathan Smit
  9. Tangeni Josef Lungameni
  10. Nikolaas Jakobus Davin
  11. Christopher Wayne Coombe
  12. Jan Nicol Lofie-Eaton
  13. Merwe Gerhard Erasmus
  14. Dayan and Thakur – Coach
  15. Gareth Cloete – Assistant Coach

You must be logged in to post a comment Login