New record at West Coast MTB

Rudi Bowe

From sand dunes to riverbeds, there was no cruising for top finisher Ingram Cuff as he set a new men’s record at the second leg of the Hollard Gravel & Dirt MTB Marathon Series that were held on Saturday at Moonlight Resort outside Swakopmund.

The West Coast Gravel & Dirt MTB powered by Hollard series brought purple power to the coast as professional and novice cyclists adventured through the scenic coastal land-scape and the off-road track challenged runners for the first time. We are happy to announce that we had a record number of 400 entries for West Coast Gravel & Dirt MTB powered by Hollard that consists of a full marathon (75km), half marathon (35km) for the fifth successive year as well as 14km and a 5km off-road trail race for men and women.
The organiser of the event, Silvio Suardi said that the level of cycling witnessed at the event was impressive and that the development of cycling in Namibia is excellent and on the right path as you have a look at all the youngsters that are coming through.

Ingram Cuff won the men’s 75km race in a time of 2:29:43 with Courtney Liebenberg the winner of the women’s 75km race in a time of 3:00:50. The first 14kmtrail run was won by Erick Goeieman in a time of 55:56and Nicoleen Karsten was the first woman over the line in a time of 1:09:40.
The third out of eight legs of the Hollard Gravel & Dirt MTB Marathon Series will take place later this month in Windhoek. “We appreciate every little bit from our sponsors and once again a huge thank you and appreciation for our main sponsor, Hollard Namibia as well as Food Lovers Market, NBL, E-Med24, Megasave Swakopmund, Panamor, Interpack, Kaleidoscope Marketing, West Coast FM and PowerBar” Suardi said.

The results of the main events for men and wo-men are as follows
Men’s 75km MTB

  1. Ingram Cuff 2:29:43
  2. Jeane-Paul Burger2:29:44
  3. Bergran Jensen2:29:45
    Women’s 75km MTB
  4. Courtney Liebenberg3:00:50
  5. Nina Holtrup3:02:31
  6. Jeane Heunis3:05:15
    Men’s 14km race
  7. Erick Goeieman55:56
  8. Pierre van Rensburg56:11
  9. Petrus Shigwedha59:09
    Women’s 14km race
  10. Nicoleen Karsten1:09:40
  11. Lydia Thiel 1:13:10
  12. Inka Krafft1:14:36

You must be logged in to post a comment Login