Region 5 Junior Youth Dart Championships at the coast

The 7th Bi-Annual Region 5 Youth Darts Championships will be held on 29 and 30 August in the Erongo region at the De Duine Secondary School hall in Narraville, Walvis Bay.

The championship consists of Under 16 and 19 players from Namibia, Zambia, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Botswana. The Namibian team consists of two boy’s teams and two girl’s teams from De Duine Secondary School.
Namibia will be represented by female and male teams consisting of U/16 and two (female and male) U/19 teams with teams consisting of four players and a reserve each.
Team Manager and Erongo Darts Youth Development Officer Reginald Williams said that trials for the Namibian Youth Team was held on 12 July at De Duine Secondary School in Narraville Walvis Bay. Invitations was sent out to all schools in the country with only a few schools present as some schools showed no interest due to the sport being regarded as ‘a bar sport’. This is not the case when it comes to the youth.
Williams added that the Namibian teams are development teams and that the players have been training on a daily basis for the past month and a half. The number one ranked premier league darts player in the region of Lyndon Green assist with the preparations of the Namibian teams. Green advised the players to keep on playing Darts after school and told them the more they play, the better they will become.
Ralph Ludwig, the Interim Secretary General of NAMDA said that De Duine as selected to host the championships was due to the large number of players of the school in the teams.
The competition will be preceded by development workshops for the youth, senior players, administrators, coaches and technical officials on 27 August with an executive Region 5 members meeting the annual general meeting, opening ceremony, managers’ meeting and draw will be on 28 August. The competition will commence on Thursday 29 August with the team events. The finals of the teams, pairs and singles will take place on Friday 30 August, followed by the awards ceremony.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login