Rossmund Ladies Open Championships

Wilna Bredenhann makes it three times in a row at the 2018 Rossmund Ladies Open Golf Championship. The event was sponsored by the Swakop Plaza Hotel with Michael Ludeke for the fourth year in succession and secures the final round of the 2018 Medal Master sponsored by Novanam.

Once again it was a busy weekend at the Rossmund Golf Course. They hosted the 2018 Rossmund Ladies Open Championship sponsored for the fourth year in succession by the Swakopmund Plaza Hotel together with the Final Round of the 2018 Medal Master sponsored by Novanam. Play for the Ladies commenced on Saturday morning around 8 o’clock.
The course was well prepared and in excellent condition. The weather conditions were a little chilly at first with a northern wind, but later in the day the temperature increased, and the day was just perfect. The defending champion Wilna Bredenhann and rival Wilma van der Merwe both carded a 79 gross for the day. In the Stableford Division all eyes were on Tiekie De Wet who scored 37 pts, giving her a four-shot lead after day one. Wilna Bredenhann managed to post a 2-shot lead to defend her title for the third year running.
Tiekie produced some steady golf equaling the same score as on day one to give her a well earned win in the Stableford Division for the second year in a row. The General Manager of Swakop Plaza Hotel, Johan Kok handed over the prizes to the winners and confirmed that their sponsorship will be on going. The President of NALGU Brenda Lens thanked Swakop Plaza Hotel for their continuous support for Ladies Golf and for making the tournament a huge success. Brenda also thanked the Rossmund Team for their hard work and thanked all the players for participating.
Results 2018 Swakop Plaza Rossmund Open:
Overall Winner (Champion) – Wilna Bredenhann 164 gross
Best Gross Winner: Wilma van der Merwe 166
Overall Nett Winner: Rina Knight 152
Stableford Division:
1st: Tikie De Wet 74pts
2nd: Zelda Nel 62pts
3rd: Mariena Ludwig 60
Sunday Stableford Winner:
Bubble Burns 27pts
The Medal competition kicked off at 12 noon so conditions were a bit on the hotter side weather wise. Michael Ludeke was the man in the picture going into the final round with a 21 point lead over his nearest rival Anton Bonifacius.
Michael finished the day with a 77nett to securing the title while the best golf for the day was played by Theo Haimbondi with an excellent 72nett and George Murasiki produced the only 2-club on Number 16. It was great to have Michael Tordesillas in the field and to officiate at the final prize-giving- having provided the field with an excellent lunch/halfway house.
Novanam November Winners:
Overall: Theo Haimbondi 72 nett
A-afdeling: Helmut Ndjendja 73 nett
B-afdeling: George Murasiki 74 nett
C-afdeling: Graham Louw 78 nett
Vroue: Wilma van der Merwe 72 nett
2018 Novanam Medal Master:
1 Michael Ludeke (141 points)
2 George Murasiki (119)
3 Anton Bonifatius (117)
4 Helmut Ndjendja (116)
5 Marco Swarts
Ladies: Lucille Abrahams (119)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login