Rossmund National League Champs

Rossmund Bowling Club is the Namibia Bowling Association’s 2019 National League Champions, after winning the Men’s and Women’s Premier Divisions as well as Division 2 this past Saturday. The Leagues concluded at the Eros Bowling Club in Windhoek.

With both Coastal teams, Namib Park from Walvis Bay and Rossmund from Swakopmund, present, that meant that all six clubs participated.
The Windhoek teams who took part in the National League were TransNamib Bowling Club, Windhoek Bowling Club, Eros Bowling Club and Omeya Bowling Club.
Rossmund Bowling Club this year proved to be a force to be reckoned with. Rossmund won the Men’s Division with 48 points, the Women’s Division with 54 points and the Trips Division 2 with 48 points, taking the honours in the Overall standings on 147 points. The Trips Division 1 was won by TransNamib Bowling Club with 39 points.
Runners-up in the Men’s Division were Omeya Bowling Club (42 points) in the Women’s Division, Eros Bowling Club (36 points) in the Trips Division 1, Rossmund Bowling Club (33 points) and in Division 2 Eros Bowling Club (42 points).
The league conclusions are always scheduled for Windhoek, as this is a central location for clubs from across the country to gather and also for everyone to be present at the Annual Awards when the NBA recognises players and clubs for their achievements.
The categories are: Most promising Bowler, Men’s Player of the Year, Women’s Player of the Year, Team of the Year, Sportsmanship Award and Contribution to Bowls.
The Most Promising Bowler Award went to 17-year old J.P. Fouché of Eros Bowling Club. He re-presented Namibia at the Under-20 National Tournament in Bloemfontein in March this year and also in Whales during the Atlantic Championships in May.
Women’s Player of the Year was awarded to Diana Viljoen of Rossmund Bowling Club. Diana is currently the Namibian Singles Champion of Champions. She also won the Namibian Closed Singles and is thus eligible to represent Namibia in the World Singles Championships to be held in Adelaide, Australia at the end of this year.
She also captained the Ladies Team that won Gold in the Quadrangular Tournament in Windhoek last year, as well as the team that represented Namibia in Whales at the Atlantic Championships.
The Men’s Player of the Year was awarded to Piet Appollis of Rossmund Bowling Club. Piet was part of the Triples Team that won a bronze medal in the Atlantic Championships (23 countries participated in this discipline) and he was in the Four’s team that made it into the Quarter-finals in the same tournament.
The team of the year award went to the Triples team that won a bronze medal at the Atlantic Championships. Willie Esterhuizen, Johan Jacobs and Piet Appollis were the three members of this team.
The Sportsmanship Award went to Lynne Lindsay-Payne. Lynne has been playing for many years and has represented Namibia on national level and more recently, in the Senior Team.
She was part of the Senior Ladies’ team that won Gold overall in last year’s Triangular Series against Botswana and Zimbabwe. Together with Cathy du Plessis, she won a silver medal at the 1998 Commonwealth Games, held in Kaula Lumpur, Malaysia.
The Final Award: Contribution to Bowls was shared by Jenny Gardiner and Lesley Vermeulen. Lesley Vermeulen was awarded Contribution to Bowls for her tireless dedication and commitment to representing Bowlers at the National Namibia Olympic Committee and the Namibia Sports Commission. Lesley took it upon herself to accompany the under 20 team to Bloemfontein earlier this year. She has been on the Executive of the Namibia Bowling Association for a number of years in various capacities.
The team for the upcoming African States Tournament, which takes place in Nairobi, Kenya from 19 to 24 August, was also announced at the Awards Dinner.
The team is unchanged from the one that went to Whales.
The Men’s Team are: Willie Esterhuizen, Johan Jacobs, Piet Appollis, J.P. Fouché and Cabous Olivier. The Ladies are Diana Viljoen, Amanda Steenkamp, AnjuleenViljoen, Elzaan de Vries and Bianca Lewis.
The NBA wishes them well and trusts that they will do very well in the African States Tournament. The NBA also congratulates all the Award winners and League winners.
The Final Standings: Premier Division Men: Rossmund Bowling Club.
Premier Division Women: Rossmund Bowling Club.
Division 1: TransNamib Bowling Club.
Division 2: Rossmund Bowling Club.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login