Salt Flavours Young Cricketers

Rudi Bowe

The 22nd Walvis Bay Salt Refiners junior cricket festival was a big success with sixteen schools competed in the annually tournament that won in 2003 and 2006 the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) development awards for best junior cricket programme.
President of Cricket Namibia Dr. Rudie van Vuuren said that it was a fantastic and well organised week of cricket and he thanked John Heynes and Nolene for what they are doing for the development of cricket at the coast and he thanked Walvis Bay Salt Refiners for flavouring the lives of young cricketers as you flavoured food.
“We should not underestimate sponsorships for sport as it create pure enjoyment and memories in the lives of young sport men and women” Van Vuuren said.
Walvis Bay Salt Refiners MD Andre Snyman said “We are honoured to be involved with the development of young talent and this tournament remains a unique opportunity for every young cricketer and many players that participated through the ranks and represented Namibia at senior and national level.
He mentioned that eleven members of the Namibian under 19 cricket squad that participated in the 2016 and 2018 ICC U19 Cricket World Cup in Bangladesh and New Zealand played in the Coastal Junior Cricket Festival and that we are proud to be associated with the festival.
Cricket Namibia operations manager John Heynes said “Development is the focus point for the sake of building a solid cricket foundation and provides cricketers and coaches with an opportunity to prepare for the upcoming school cricket leagues.
Heynes mentioned that this year’s festival was played in a good spirit and that he is to a great extent in debt to the coaches and team managers who curtailed their holidays in order to be with their teams for this festival.”
The results for the Under Eleven teams are;
Best Umpire: Ben Shikongo
Best Scorer: Rochelle Venter
Best Bowlers: Murray Hendricks from Windhoek Gymnasium with 20 wickets in 27 overs with a run rate of 3.96 and Saima Tuhadelni from !Narra Primary A with 17 wickets in 24 overs with a run rate of 1.78.
Best Batsman: Adam Diggle from St. Paul’s scored 226 runs in 7 matches
Best All-Rounder: Merwe van Wyk from WAP with 17 wickets and 115 runs
Player of the Festival: Murray Hendricks from Windhoek Gymnasium
Best Coach Quinton Haeseb from !Narra Primary A
Best Team Spirit: Outjo Girls team
Team of the Festival: !Narra Primary School A team
Best manager: Morne Rust from Walvis Bay Private High School
The results for the Under Thirteen teams are;
Best Umpire: Shalako Groenewald
Best Scorer: Yolande Fourie
Best Bowlers: Jack Brassel from Pro-Ed Academy with 13 wickets from 26 overs with a run rate of 4.13 and Ryan Moffet from St. Pauls with 12 wickets from 24 overs with a run rate of 3.75.
Best Batsman: Ben Burger of WAP with 336 runs scored in 6 matches
Best All-Rounder: Jack Brassel from Pro-Ed with 13 wickets and 219 runs
Player of the Festival: Ben Burger of WAP
Best Coach Garfield Mbeya from WAP
Best Team Spirit: Edugate
Best manager: Anri Parker of St. Pauls
Team of the Festival: WAP

You must be logged in to post a comment Login