Stefanus retains the Distell Rossmund open Championship for 2016

The Rossmund Golf Course played host over the weekend to the 2016 Distell Rossmund Open Championship and as expected the weather conditions were good and the course, especially the greens were in an excellent condition. The tournament this year attracted a field of 81 golfers from all corners of Namibia and was one of the largest fields for the year which is good news for golf.

The Championship is an official event on the NAGU Calendar as well as a qualifier for the African Green Jacket Tournament.
Play commenced at 06:30am on Saturday morning The weather was a bit on the cool side but soon brightened up. Stefanus carded a one under par for his first 18 with old hands Francois Hanekom and Grant Mather just one shot behind. Round Two brought Gabriel Shikodi and Licius Nande into the picture – both shooting a par for the course – at the end of the day there was a three way tie on 145 Gross featuring – Francois; Licius and Stefanus. Willie Van Zyl was stamping his authority in the “B”Division whilst Achmet Abrahams and George Murasiku were battling it out in the “C” Division.
Sunday morning early it was down to business in hot and humid conditions. Stefanus managed to card a one under par round giving him a 3 shot win over his nearest rival Francois to secure the Championship.
President of NAGU Marco Swarts thanked Distell for their continuous support of Golf through-out Namibia especially during the current economic climate; he thanked Rossmund Golf Course for the use of the course and also the staff for all their hard work and effort that went into preparing it for the tournament. Sponsors representative Barney Jansen van Vuuren said he was delighted at the size of the field and looked forward to next year.
NAGU used the occasion to announce the new Namibian Team that will take part in the Region 5 Tournament to be held in Zambia in April 2017 being: Stefanus Bonifacius; Gabriel Shikodi; Licuis Nande and Walter Heibeb.
RESULTS: Overall Gross Winner (Champion) S Bonifacius 216; Overall R/U Gross: F Hanekom 219; Overall Nett: W Van Zyl 215; Overall R/U Nett: G Thorpe 217.
“A”Division Gross: G Shikodi 220; Gross R/U: G Mather 230; Nett: L Nande 220; Nett R/U: G Olivier 221. “B “Division: Gross Winner: J Vermeulen 251; Gross R/U: M Polster 257; Nett Winner: H Ndjendja 222; Nett R/U: D Benson 226. ”C“ Division Gross Winner: G Murasiki 170 c/o; Gross R/U: C Hoeseb 185 c/o; Nett Winner: A Abrahams 144; Nett R/U: J Mather 147.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login