Swakopmund and Walvis Bay mayors re-elected

Both mayors were spared the political axe after not siding with faction Team Swapo that did not want President Hage Geingob to run for a second term in office as Head of State in the 2019 Presidential and National Assembly Elections.
In Swakopmund, the seat of Deputy Mayor also remained unchanged in favour of Clr. Maria Elago, but in Walvis Bay Clr. Hilka Erastus was voted out in favour of Clr. Penelope Martin for the post as Deputy Mayor.
Political commentators have been quoted in the national press stating that Erastus was linked to the disbanded Team Swapo and the political axe fell for her, the same fate that befell several high ranking Swapo politicians and in some instances even sympathisers.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login