Swakopmunder Museum awards winners

Happy faces were seen in the Swakopmund Museum at the prize-giving ceremony of the “Creative Competition” recently. This successful event was hosted by the Scientific Society of Swakopmund and the Arts Association Swakopmund over the festive season.

“It was a success, and we will make this an annual event” said Nadine Phiri, assistant curator of the Swakopmund Museum. Mrs Remmert of the Arts Association Swakopmund added: “But we will start earlier, in November, so that more school children can participate”.
The sponsors: Art Stop, Arts Association Swakopmund, Hansa Bakery, Camel Farm, Namibia Institute of Architects, Atelier Haus Hohenzollern, Scientific Society Swakopmund and Salt Company ensured interesting prizes.
Mrs Almuth Styles announced the proud winners in following categories: the winner for the 5-11 years category was Johannes Gous, 12-18 years was Armand du Plooy, 19-99 years was Petrus Nauyoma who won the first prize, second prize went to Nghiwipo Sebedeus, and in third place was Jeremia Haihambo. Winners of the “Group”-category were the primary school girls Isabella Steyn, Emily Berens, Amelie Kohlstädt and Melanie Bauer. Winner of the category “Writing” was S.F. Gous with his beautiful poem.

Winner’s creations will be available as postcards in the Swakopmunder Museum and at Arts Associations.
The winning creations and close follow-ups can be viewed in the Swakopmund Museum until 28 February 2021. The Swakopmund Museum is open daily between 10 and 17 o’clock.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login