Torben Most Valuable Player

A youngster from Swakopmund Fistball Club (SFC) Torben Winterbach walked away with the Most Valuable Player award at the 2018 Bank Windhoek Fistball League champions that was held over the past week-end at Deutscher Turn und Sportverein (DTS) sport field in Windhoek.

The Category A winners of the Bank Windhoek Fistball National Cup was won by Cohen Fist-ball Club 1 (CFC 1) while Sport Klub Windhoek 2 (SKW 2) emerged as champions of Category B.
The tournament, which was divided in two groups, saw seven parti-cipating teams compete for the top honours. The fixtures kicked off with games between CFC 1, SKW 2 and CFC 3 who made up Category A. CFC 3 celebrated a re-markable 2-1 victory over SKW 2 who was expec-ted to win this encounter after finishing third in the Bank Windhoek Fistball League. Filled with con-fidence from their win, CFC 3 locked horns with their club mates CFC 1 whom they placed under immense pressure in the first set. However, CFC 1, managed to turn it around and won the remaining two sets. CFC 1 also triumphed over SKW 2 with a 3-0 score line. As a result, SKW 2 slipped into Category B while CFC 1 and 3 progressed to the Category A semi-finals.
Category B saw SKW 1, CFC 2, DTS and SFC compete for bragging rights in this group. SKW 1 started off their play on a strong momentum which saw them win all their matches. CFC 2 defeated DTS and SFC as they advanced into Cate-gory A’s semi-final stage. Meanwhile, DTS lost to SFC as both teams went on to play with SKW 2 in pur-suit of the Category B title.
Cohen 1 overpowered CFC 2, 2-0 in the first semi-final while SKW 1 defeated CFC 3 with the same score. In the match for third place, CFC 3 sur-prised their counter-parts CFC 2 with a 3-0 win. Arch rivals CFC 1 and SKW 1 faced each other in the final. As usual, SKW 1 started off as the stronger side and led 3-0 in the first set. CFC 1 came back tougher and equalised. In the end, Cohen managed to win the set 11-9.
Both teams came back determined to win the second set, but CFC 1 kept the upper hand and won it as well. In the third and final set, CFC 1 changed their tactics and moved into a defensive mode which left SKW 1’s play in the doldrums. CFC 1 later shifted into an attacking offence which was simply too much for SKW 1 to withstand. This resulted in CFC 1’s dominance of the season which saw them scoop two of the league’s top awards: The Bank Windhoek Fistball Lea-gue and the National Cup champion trophies. SKW 2 beat DTS and SFC to claim the Category B title. SFC finished second and DTS secured the third spot. CFC 1’s Helmo Minz was the Player of The Day. The Player of The Year trophy went to CFC 1’s Rico Kühnle-Kreitz and Helmo Minz who shared the award.”
To our main sponsor, Bank Windhoek, thank you for the support throughout the season and our appreciation goes to the clubs, players and the Association, for your contribution to making this league a success,” said Fistball Association of Namibia’s Media Officer, Helmo Minz.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login