Vasbyt Action

Floris Steenkamp senior and Floris Steenkamp junior delivered thrilling competition and victory at the Weskus Vasbyt. Namib Desert 4X4 Vasbyt Club hosted the event under the banner of the Namibian Motorsport Federation near Dune 7 at Walvis Bay.

The Steenkamp’s with their vehicle called Bobjaan proved their skills during the ten extremely exhausting stages and managed to get the maximum points (600). They won the overall standings as well as the A-Class for the second time in a row. Herman and Nico Theron with their vehicle Poetsie were second with 580 points, followed by Theunis van Zyl and Deon Louw with Pitstop with 570 points.
A total of 19 vehicles participated in an A-Class for vehicles with a Short Wheel Base, B-Class for vehicles with a Long Wheel Base and C-Class for vehicles with special modifications to the machines and had to find their way through ten demanding obstacles like sandpits, dune climbing a tire and a mud pit. Theunis van Zyl, chairman of the Namib Desert Vasbyt Club, thanked the spectators and running judges who visited the Vasbyt in the sun, wind and good weather.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login