Willie Els Junior Open Golf Champion

Willie Els was the overall winner of the Rossmund Junior Open Golf Champion at the Rossmund Golf Course in Swakopmund on 13 March.

Under the auspices of the Namibia Junior Golf Foundation (NJGF) hosted the Rossmund Junior Open at the Rossmund Golf Course, with about 30 Junior Golf players from Tsumeb, Windhoek, Walvis Bay, Henties Bay, and Rossmund – were doing the rounds from early morning until the sunset. Where do they get all their energy from one might ask?
The junior golfers play in 5 divisions “A to E” depending on age and handicap/experience. The division defines the number of holes played and from what distance.

The NJGF thanked all the parents who offered up their time to assist with scoring, controlling etc; members of the Rossmund Committee and a special word of thanks to Adélle and Poena Johnson from Tsumeb Golf Club for running the tournament so brilliantly – you are all stars.
Results: Overall Gross and Champion Golfer: Willie Els 169, Overall Nett: Xavier Schreuder 158. “A” Division Gross: JJ Grebe 179, Nett: Christiaan Spangenberg 167, R/U Gross: Kyle Johnson 188; R/U Nett: Tiaan Voigts 172. “B” Division: JP Johnson; “C” Division: Justine Naobeb; “D” Division: Prince Robert; “E” Division: Marcel. Well played to all and especially the first timers.
Whilst all this excitement was going on the Club Members competed in the Annual Captain vs Vice Captain Betterball Stableford sponsored by Engen – Swakopmund Service Station with a field of 32 players.
Weather conditions were perfect with very little wind to upset the golfers. Unfortunately for the Captain his team was beaten fair and square for the 2nd year in a row so they say – which led to the ringing of the bell by Michael.
The day was full of fun and thank you to all the golfers who remained in the clubhouse for the prize-giving. There was only one 2-club coming from Dr Bertie Saunderson who donated his prize money to the bar staff. Stuart Salt assisted with the prize-giving:
Nearest to the Pin Prize on Number 7 went to Helmut Ndjendja – whose ball just made it onto the green – whilst nobody made it on Number 3 – a lucky draw was held and won by Sigi Baumgarten.
Winners: 1st: Helmut Ndjendja/Thomas Shitaleni 43pts, 2nd: Steven Johns/George Murasiki 42 points, 3rd: Peter Bassingthwaighte/Dougie Smith 41 points, 4th: Michael Ludeke/Stuart Salt 40 points, 5th: Gaby Adams/Rina Knight 39 points (c/o) over Chris Magson/ Gerhard Byleveld 39 points.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login