Zambian National makes history at Rössing Marathon

Rudi Bowe

Mathews Mutanya a Zambian national made history at this year’s Rössing Marathon as he is the first foreign national that managed to win the event twice in a row with Namibian star Marathon runner Beata Naigambo who won the ladies open champion in a time of 2:43:21 and received a development bonus worth N$20 000.

Mutanya, who was the defending champion as he won the Rössing Marathon in 2018 defended his title by beating a string of strong contenders and won the 2019 Marathon in a time of 2:21:49 and walked away with a cash prize of N$10 000.
Namibian runner Kefas Kondjashili came in second overall in a time of 2:22:55 and received the Rössing Marathon development bonus, worth N$20 000 of in-kind support, for the development of his running career over the course of the year.
This year’s Rössing Marathon, enjoyed in warm weather conditions around Swakopmund and reached another milestone, with record entries of over 600 participants in the running events and more than 300 walkers taking part in the 5km Fun Walk in support of the Cancer Association of Namibia (CAN) and the fight against cancer. Close to N$4 000 was collected for CAN in the process.
The theme for this year’s Rössing Marathon was “My health, my right!” Shaan van Schalkwyk, Rössing’s acting managing director said during the event that: “The main aim of the marathon championship is to spark a long-term interest in healthy habits and proudly associate Rössing Uranium with the promotion of healthy lifestyles in the mine’s neighbouring communities. At the same time we aim to foster friendships and team-work among all participants. As a responsible mining company we strive to create positive impacts through our values of safety, excellence, integrity, respect and teamwork.”
Rössing announced at the event that the 21km race will in future be known as the “Frank Slabbert Half Marathon”. This was done in honour of their long-time race director, Frank Slabbert, who supervised his 28th consecutive Rössing Marathon this year. Slabbert is the current chairperson of Swakop Striders Athletics Club, the partners in hosting one of Namibia’s oldest and most popular, premier long-distance events the Rössing Marathon.
Over N$100 000 was awarded to winners in various categories on the day.
The overall winners, with their winning times, were as follows:
21km Half Marathon
Men: Tomas Rainhold, 1:05:39:02
Ladies: Helalia Johannes, 1:10:42
10km run
Men: Daniel Paulus, 30:24
Ladies: Anna Amutoko, 35:29
5km run
Men: Daniel Paulus (30:24)
Ladies: Anna Amutoko (35:29)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login