Zimbabwe wins series

The Zimbabwe Women’s senior cricket team as demolished the Namibian senior cricket team to won the Namib Desert Women T20 Challenge with two games to spare.

It is the first time in the history of women’s cricket in Namibia that a Women’s International Cricket Tournament is hosted at Sparta United Club in Walvis Bay. The Namibian and Zimbabwe Women’s teams are using the series as preparation for the International Cricket Council T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier to be held in Harare in May.

First match:
Namibia lost by 6 wickets.
The Namibia women lost the toss and were sent in to bat first by the more experience women from Zimbabwe. The Namibians scored 95 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 5 wickets with their highest contribution with the bat coming from opener Adri van der Merwe with 41 runs from 53 balls and Kayleen Green who took two wickets with the ball in hand.
Zimbabwe made a great start as they defeated Namibia with 11balls to spare. Pace bowler Josephine Nkomo (player of the match) was the star performer for Zimbabwe with ball in hand as she picked up three wickets for 12 runs in four overs and Chipo Tiripano was the top scored with an unbeaten 40 runs off 48 deliveries.

Second match:
Namibia lost by 8 wickets.
Zimbabwe Women won the toss and send the Namibians in to bat first. The local women could only score 77 runs in 20 overs with Adri van der Merwe scored the most runs (37 from 58 balls) with Kayleen Green again took two the only wickets with the ball in hand.
Zimbabwe defeated with a score of 80 runs in just 11.4 over. Pace bowler Josephine Nkomo and Nomvelo Sibanda took one wicket each and Precious Marange and Anesu Mushangwe with two wickets each and Chipo Tiripano (player of the match) the top scorer with an unbeaten 31 runs off 23 deliveries.

Third match:
Namibia lost by 57 runs.
Namibia won the toss and send Zimbabwe in to bet first. The tourist set a score of 136 runs for the loss of 8 wickets. Mary-Anne Musonda the Zimbabwean captain was the highest scorer with 60 runs from 49 balls with Nomatter Mutasa with ball in hand took three wickets, Loreen Phiri and Nomvelo Sibanda two wickets and Precious Marange one wicket.
Namibia could only score 79 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. The highest score for the host is Arrasta Diergaardt with 22 runs from 27 ball and once again Kayleen Green was the best bowler as she got 2 wickets. The other wicket takers for Namibia were Sune Wittmann,
Arrasta Diergaardt, Reehana Khan, Didi Foerster and Sylvia Shihepo with one wicket each.
The Zimbabwean coach Adam Chifo said that he is overwhelmed for the performance of the ladies and that this series is part of their preparation for the International Cricket Council T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier to be held in Harare in May.

The Namibian women’s team are:
Adri van der Merwe, Yasmeen Kahn (captain), Roche Venter, Kayleen Green, Sune Wittmann, Wilka Mwatile, Arrasta Diergaardt, Reehana Khan, Didi Foerster, Constancia Kauripeke, Sylvia Shihepo, Namusha Shiomwenyo, Eveleen Keja-rukua, Zhantay Frans, Coach: Christopher Coombe, Assistant coach: Fortune Matawu and Team man-ager: Andrea Brand.

The Zimbabwe women’s team are: Mary-Anne Musonda (captain), ChipoTiripano, Ashley Ndiraya, Anesu Mushangwe, Sharne Mayers, Nomvelo Sibanda, Josephine Nkomo, Precious Marange, Modester Mupachikwa, Chiedza Mzembe, Loreen Phiri, Christabel Chatonzwa, Ellen Tshuma, No-matter Mutasa, Coach: Adam Chifo, Assistant coach: Sinikiwe Mpofu and Team manager: Sam-kelisiwe Nkiwane.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login